Mark S. Cantieri, D.O., F.A.A.O.


Dr. Mark Cantieri graduate from University in 1978 with a degree in psychology. He obtained his degree in osteopathic medicine from Des Moines University College of Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery in 1981. He completed a Fellowship an osteopathic manipulation in 1982 and then served a rotating internship in 1983. He began treating injured people while doing general practice from 1983-1986 in Des Moines, Iowa. In 1986 he moved to Phoenix, Arizona and worked in the Department of Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine at Phoenix General Hospital. The left there in 1990 to come to South Bend, IN and has practiced in the area since that time. He founded Corrective Care, PC in 1990 and has specialized in the treatment of musculoskeletal pain problems since that time.

Dr. Cantieri began performing prolotherapy in 1997 noting that osteopathic manipulation, rehabilitative exercises, standard pain control injections, oral medications, and surgery helped far too few of his chronic pain patients. So impressed was he with the results of prolotherapy he began teaching it annually at the University New England to physicians from throughout the country, Europe and Asia. In 2008 along with co-authors Tom Ravin, M.D. and George Pasquarello, D.O. they published the first medical textbook on prolotherapy since the 1950s, Principles of Prolotherapy. Dr. Cantieri has taught prolotherapy to state, national and international audiences including at the Gulhane Military Medical Academy, Turkish Armed Forces Rehabilitation Center, Ankara, Turkey in May of 2013.

Dr. Cantieri has served as the President of the American Academy of Osteopathy and now serves on the Board of Trustees of the American Osteopathic Association. He has served on various committees for both his specially college and several national associations. He has served on the Commission for Osteopathic College Accreditation, including a term as Vice-Chairman. He is currently president-elect of the Indiana Osteopathic Association and serves as the chairman of the legislative committee.